Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

John Lloyd Cruz bags best actor award at the 76th Locarno Film Festival

By Yoniel Acebuche Published Aug 12, 2023 10:54 am Updated Aug 12, 2023 10:56 am

John Lloyd Cruz has added another recognition to his vast list of acting achievements. 

John Lloyd bagged the Boccalino d’Oro prize (Golden Jug Award) for best actor for his performance in Lav Diaz’s Essential Truth of the Lake at the 76th Locarno Film Festival (LFF) in Switzerland, the Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) announced Friday. 

He is the second Filipino actor who got the same recognition after Hazel Orencio who also won best actress in 2014 for Mula sa Kung Ano ang Noon which was also helmed by Lav. 

"It is with great joy and pride that I congratulate one of the most talented artists of our country, Mr. John Lloyd Cruz, for having won the Boccalino d'Oro prize (Golden Jug Award) for Best Actor at the 76th Locarno Film Festival (LFF) in Switzerland," said FDCP Chairman and CEO Tirso Cruz III in a statement.

"This award is much deserved by an artist of his caliber. Lloydie, congratulations and thank you for bringing honor to our country," he added. 

The Boccalino d'Oro Award is given at the festival by the Independent Critics Jury. 

According to FDCP, Essential Truth of the Lake is the only Southeast Asia film in competition.

The film's synopsis read: "Faced with Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte’s bloody murders and brazen lies, Lt. Papauran continues his struggle to find resolution to a fifteen-year-old case around a volcanic ash-laden landscape and an impenetrable lake. It has become a cross he can barely carry but keeps lugging anyway. His survival then is in perpetuating the pain.” 

Essential Truth of the Lake also marked Lav's return to Locarno since he won the Golden Leopard Prize, or the Best Picture award, for the same Mula sa Kung Ano ang Noon film. It also starred Shaina Magdayao, Bart Guingona, Agot Isidro, and others.