Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

'Family Matters,' Nadine Lustre among big winners at 71st FAMAS Awards

By NICK GARCIA Published Aug 14, 2023 10:19 am

Family drama Family Matters was the big winner at this year's Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences (FAMAS) Awards, the highest recognition in the local film industry.

Family Matters, which revolves around family members arguing about who would care for their father that suffered a stroke, took home four awards, including best picture, best actor for Noel Trinidad, best supporting actress for Nikki Valdez, and best editing.

Another big winner was Nadine Lustre, who won her second FAMAS best actress for thriller Greed. The film tells the story of a couple hitting the jackpot in a lottery and deciding to leave town until things don't go as planned. She got her first award in 2019 for romantic drama Never Not Love You.

Established in 1952, the FAMAS serves as the country's oldest existing award-giving body for film and, by extension, among the oldest in Asia. This year's ceremonies were held on Aug. 13 at the Manila Hotel.

Here's the full list of winners at the 71st FAMAS Awards.

Best Picture
  • Family Matters — WINNER
  • Blue Room
  • Leonor Will Never Die
  • La Traidora
  • Deleter
Best Actor
  • Paulo Avelino, Ngayon Kaya
  • John Arcilla, Reroute
  • Diego Loyzaga, Greed
  • Ian Veneracion, Nanahimik ang Gabi
  • Noel Trinidad, Family Matters — WINNER
Best Supporting Actor
  • Soliman Cruz, Blue Room
  • Nonie Buencamino, Family Matters
  • Mon Confiado, Nanahimik ang Gabi
  • Sid Lucero, Reroute — WINNER
  • Rocky Salumbides, Leonor Will Never Die
Best Actress
  • Liza Lorena, Family Matters
  • Nadine Lustre, Greed — WINNER
  • Heaven Peralejo, Nanahimik ang Gabi
  • Janine Gutierrez, Ngayon Kaya
  • Shiela Francisco, Leonor Will Never Die
Best Supporting Actress
  • OJ Arci, La Traidora
  • Nikki Valdez, Family Matters — WINNER
  • Louise Delos Reyes, Deleter
  • Mylene Dizon, Family Matters
  • Nour Hooshmand, Blue Room
Best Director
  • Nuel Naval, Family Matters
  • Mikhail Red, Deleter
  • Ma-an Asuncion-Dagñalan, Blue Room — WINNER
  • Alejandro Ramos, La Traidora
  • Martika Escobar, Leonor Will Never Die
Best Screenplay
  • Mel Mendoza Del Rosario, Family Matters
  • Martika Escobar, Leonor Will Never Die
  • Abet Raz/Alejandro Ramos, La Traidora — WINNER
  • Ma-an Asuncion-Dagñalan, Blue Room
  • Nikolas Red/Mikhail Red, Deleter
Best Production Design
  • Eero Yves Francisco, Leonor Will Never Die — WINNER
  • Maolen Fadul, Blue Room
  • James Rosendal, Greed
  • Elfren Vibar, Family Matters
  • Law Fajardo, Reroute
Best Editing
  • Lawrence Ang, Leonor Will Never Die
  • Nikolas Red, Deleter
  • Beng Bandong, Family Matters — WINNER
  • Vanessa De Leon, Blue Room
  • Law Fajardo, Reroute
Best Cinematography
  • Carlos Mauricio, Leonor Will Never Die
  • Ian Alexander Guevara, Deleter
  • Joshua Reyes, Reroute
  • Noel Teehankee, Family Matters
  • Neil Daza, Blue Room — WINNER
Best Musical Score
  • Ngayon Kaya
  • Leonor Will Never Die
  • Family Matters
  • Deleter
  • Blue Room — WINNER
Best Sound
  • Deleter
  • Nanahimik ang Gabi
  • Reroute — WINNER
  • Leonor Will Never Die
  • Blue Room
Best Short Film
  • Ang Mga Abo, Gabby Ramos
  • Golden Bells, Kurt Soberano — WINNER
  • Dosena, Kyla Romero
  • Pasan, Marvin Cabas and John Paul Dabuet
  • Isa sa Isang Dosena, Leia Reyna Pasumbal

There are also six recipients of special awards, namely:

Susan Roces Celebrity Award
  • Liza Lorena
Dr. Jose R Perez Memorial Award
  • Jun Urbano
German Moreno Youth Achievement Award
  • Jillian Ward
Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Marita Zobel
Fernando Poe, Jr. Memorial Award
  • Sen. Lito Lapid
Exemplary Award in Public Service
  • House Speaker Martin Romualdez