Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

LIST: The winners at Cinemalaya 2023

By Brooke Villanueva Published Aug 13, 2023 9:20 pm

Cinemalaya 2023 was concluded with an awards ceremony that recognized the standout entries in its latest edition.

Among the biggest winners in this year’s film fest were Iti Mapukpukaw (The Missing) by Carl Joseph Papa, which won Best Film in the full-length feature category, as well as Sibuyas ni Perfecto by Januar Yap that bagged the same award in the shorts. Other key winners include When This is All Over by Kevin Mayuga, Hinakdal by Arvin Belarmino, and Rookie by Samantha Lee and Natts Jadaone.

The local movie festival ran from Aug. 4 to 13 at the Philippine International Convention Center in Pasay. Here are the winners at Cinemalaya's 19th edition.


Audience Choice Award (Short Film) 

Hinakdal (Condemned)

Audience Choice Award (Full-Length Feature Film) 


Best Sound Design

Gian Arre for Tether

Best Original Musical Score 

Kindred for When This is All Over 

Best Production Design 

Kaye Banaag for When This is All Over 

Best Editing

Ilsa Malsi for Rookie 

Best Cinematography 

Martika Escobar for When This is All Over

Best Screenplay (Short Film)

Arvin Belarmino for Hinakdal (Condemned)

Best Screenplay (Full-Length Feature Film)

Jopy Arnaldo for Gitling

Best Supporting Actor (Full-Length Feature Film)

Bon Andrew Lentejas for Huling Palabas

Best Supporting Actress (Full-Length Feature Film)

Dolly de Leon for Iti Mapukpukaw (The Missing)

Dolly de Leon won Best Supporting Actress for her performance on Iti Mapukpukaw (The Missing). "Grabe, first time kong makatanggap at magsalita [para sa] award dito sa Pilipinas. Ang sarap pala sa feeling!" she said in her acceptance speech.

Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema Award (Short Film)

Arvin Belarmino for Hinakdal (Condemned)

Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema Award (Full-Length Feature Film)

Iti Mapukpukaw (The Missing)

Best Actor (Full-Length Feature Film)

Mikoy Morales for Tether

Best Actress (Full-Length Feature Film)

Pat Tingjuy for Rookie

Special Award for Best Ensemble (Full-Length Feature Film)

The cast of Ang Duyan ng Magiting

Special Jury Award (Short Film)

Hm Hm Mhm

Special Jury Award (Full-Length Feature Film)

Ang Duyan ng Magiting

Best Director (Short Film)

Mike Cabarles for Makoko sa Baybay (I am Going to the Beach)

Best Director (Full-Length Feature Film)

Ryan Machado for Huling Palabas

Best Film (Short Film)

Sibuyas ni Perfecto

Best Film (Full-Length Feature Film)

Iti Mapukpukaw (The Missing)