Style Living Self Celebrity Geeky News and Views
In the Paper BrandedUp Hello! Create with us Privacy Policy

YG Entertainment's new girl group BABYMONSTER debuts with 'BATTER UP'

By JUSTINE PUNZALAN Published Nov 27, 2023 2:11 pm

Multi-national girl group BABYMONSTER has finally made its debut in the K-pop scene today, Nov. 27.

Touted as BLACKPINK's "little sister," BABYMONSTER was launched by YG Entertainment as its first girl group in seven years since BLACKPINK.

The group consists of three Korean members, Haram, Ahyeon, and Rora; two Thai members, Pharita and Chiquita; and two Japanese members, Ruka and Asa.

Also known as BaeMon, BABYMONSTER officially entered the industry with their first digital single BATTER UP.

According to South Korean entertainment outlet Soompi, the music and lyrics of the new track were co-written by BABYMONSTAR's Asa along with her famous YG Entertainment labelmates.

Joining Asa in producing the lyrics are Jared Lee, YG, TREASURE's Choi Hyun Suk, AKMU's Lee Chanhyuk, WHERE THE NOISE, and BIGTONE. Meanwhile, the Japanese BABYMONSTER member co-composed the music with Jared Lee, Chaz Mishan, and YG DEE.P.

The song features a catchy tune with bass drops that showcase the group's bold rapping, and powerful singing. Its lyrics, meanwhile, talks more about the members' unstoppable personality with lines like, "I'm on a mission / Don't need permission / No matter what I'm gonna say make my own decisions," "Let me show you who we are," and "We are the monsters of the world."

Complementing the upbeat song is its music video which features each member's striking visuals and chic styling.

Prior to their official launch, BABYMONSTER previously released their pre-debut song, titled DREAM, in May.

Check out the group's newest track below.